And (new) life goes on…

I made life. What have you done this year?

Just kidding. Well, sort of. I gave birth to my third (and last) ankle biter this past Saturday. Mari (that’s short for Damara… I’ll tell the very funny name story later) is a happy, healthy baby who contentedly eats, sleeps, craps, pees, and cries, just like every other happy, healthy newborn. Thank god. She came about 3 weeks too early — we originally thought 4 weeks, but their “super accurate early ultrasound” was totally off. Score one for natural family planning, since I charted my conception at about 6 or 7 days before they did. (I have the very childish urge to stick my tongue out and chant, “nah nah nah nah nah nah.” Okay, so I acted on my urge. Shut up, no one asked you.)

For those with a love of details, she was born at 7:29 a.m. and was 7lbs 3oz and 20in long. God help me had she cooked 3 more weeks… I would have given birth to a behemoth. Of course, she would’ve fit right in with my other two behemoths, so y’know. So far all has gone well in the life of three hellions, but we’ll see how long that lasts!

Oh, and a small update. My older children have cavities out the wazoota, despite teeth brushing. The dentist blames it all on the (extremely watered down) juice we give them to drink. So we’ve switched them to only one cup of juice a day (full strength for regularity) with a good tooth scrubbing after, and only milk and water the rest of the day. We’ll see just how full of shit the dentist is, I suppose.

One Response to “And (new) life goes on…”

Leave a Reply

